The Totten Trail
Historic Inn building has a rich history. Uses of the building
were as Officers' Quarters during the military period (1867 -
1890) and as a residence hall during the Indian Industrial School
period (1891-1935). The building was constructed by the United
States Government in 1869 to serve as quarters for four officers
and their families who were stationed at Fort Totten Military
Post. Each officer had a separate apartment from the other officers'
families in this quadraplex structure.
In 1890 the military
decommissioned the post, and the site was converted for use as
in industrial school for children from the Devils Lake Sioux Indian
Reservation (now known as Spirit Lake Dakota Nation) and Turtle
Band of Chippewa Tribes. The building was used as apartments for
the school employees. Wains coating was added to the walls. The
entire structure came to resemble a grand hotel of the period.
The Inn has retained the school era floor plan. Special features
retained from the school era are a grand staircase in the entrance,
and original stamped-tin covered kitchen walls, and a large parlor
area that was used as a dining hall by the school era employees.
With the receipt
of an ISTEA grant and matching funds raised through the spearheading
efforts of the Fort Totten State Historic Site Foundation, individuals,
groups, businesses, and other supporters of Fort Totten State
Historic Site the restoration and modern adaptive use project
on the building began in 1997.
of BauerLatoza Studio, Chicago, Illinois, and Peter Miejer of
Sera Architects, Portland, Oregon performed the necessary architectural
work for renovation of the building. The general contractor was
Robert Mackley Associates of Minot. Lake Region and state subcontractors
were also used.